I run a lot.  I workout a lot.  I enjoy lifting weights.  I hit the gym.

I think it is awesome that New Year’s resolutions have people more focused on themselves.  Reaching for health.  Reaching for change.  Hey, I did it too.

I reached for the permanent change and developed healthy eating and exercise habits to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

Or, so I thought.

Today, a fellow running friend posted the following article on Twitter: “If Quitting Sugar Is A ‘Fad’, So Is Going Vego” And the discussions sparked amongst the runners.  All could agree, healthy eating and living was the best.

But what did that look like?  Some had a hard time thinking about dropping sugar from their diets.  Others meat.  And when you read the article, the idea of restrictive dieting, i.e., dropping a food group from your diet completely is a fad and potentially dangerous to your health.

What?

I dropped sugar for health reasons.  I have been sugar free for over 5 years now, and hey, I lost a lot of weight with the white stuff gone and kept it off.  I dropped meat and became a vegetarian 3 years ago, as I read vegan/vegetarian athletes perform better.  I can attest.  When I was a healthy runner I was able to drop my Half Marathon and Marathon time significantly.  After watching “Forks Over Knives” and reading related information about the risk of a high protein diet being linked to cancer, I continued to keep meat out of my diet.

So, I read on. The article actually says dropping sugar would be doing your health a favor.  But dropping meat from your diet can lead to health issues and nutrient deficiency.

That makes sense.  When you lose an important food, it is important to find balance.  To bring those nutrients back in.

And as a long distance runner, I EAT.  This girl is pro food.  Today alone I ran 8 miles.  My Garmin tells me I burned 1077 calories.  So it is REAL important for me to fuel my body correctly.

I feel that I do.  Today I filled the meat void with eggs, hummus, black beans, refried beans.  And lots of fruits and vegetables.

I wrote before about protein sources in a vegetarian diet, found here.

I searched farther and found this chart from the article: “How and Why Too Much Protein Triggers Aging and Cancer”

 

Red meat, pork, poultry, and seafood average 6 to 9 grams of protein per ounce.

An ideal amount for most people would be a 3-ounce serving of meat or seafood (not 9- or 12-ounce steaks!), which will provide about 18 to 27 grams of protein

Eggs contain about 6 to 8 grams of protein per egg. So an omelet made from two eggs would give you about 12 to 16 grams of protein

If you add cheese, you need to calculate that protein in as well (check the label of your cheese)

Seeds and nuts contain on average 4 to 8 grams of protein per quarter cup Cooked beans average about 7 to 8 grams per half cup
Cooked grains average 5 to 7 grams per cup Most vegetables contain about 1 to 2 grams of protein per ounce

I continue to feel there are many health benefits to eating a whole food vegetarian diet, and will cling to it.  Keeping in mind the nutrients I am not getting and filling those voids in healthy ways.

And keeping the sugar out.

