“Is this song from the 80’s or is a new song with an 80’s sound?”

I feel like when you ask someone for running song suggestions you will eventually hear: “ANYTHING from the 80’s!”

I love a good 80’s song.  There are many on my iPod for sure!

But sometimes I want a new beat.  I feel there are a lot of NEW songs out there that have an 80’s sound.

So here they are – the songs of today with a retro influence that I love to run to, and I think any 80’s junky will dig on their running mix:

  1. The Night Begins to Shine” – BER
  2. Higher” – The Naked and the Famous
  3. “Talk too Much” – Coin
  4. Dancing on Glass” – St. Lucia
  5. Carried Away” – Passion Pit
  6. Heads Will Roll” – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  7. My Type” – Saint Motel (Has a bit of 70’s disco feel)
  8. Don’t Stop” – Foster the People
  9. “Lifted Up (1985)” – Passion Pit
  10. Work This Body” – Walk the Moon
  11.  “Elevate” – St. Lucia
  12. Beware the Dog” – The Griswolds (Although I wonder if the true 80’s fanatic will appreciate curse words in a song….You’ve been warned!”)
  13. Happy” – Robert DeLong
  14. If So” – Atlas Genius
  15. Can You Blame Me” – Matt and Kim
  16. Chocolate” – The 1975
  17. Girls” – The 1975
  18. Closer” – Tegan and Sara
  19. Rollercoaster” – Bleachers (You probably already heard this one at the gym – it plays at mine all the time!)
  20.  Red Eyes” – The War on Drugs
  21. I Wanna Get Better” – Bleachers
  22. Such Great Heights” – Postal Service
  23. Wait for Love” – St. Lucia
  24. Geromino” – Sheppard
  25. Out of my Head” – The Griswolds

 

What do you recommend?  Let me know!

