“So, where do you get your protein?”

The number one question I get asked when someone finds out that I am a vegetarian.

I go to the basic answer:

“Vegetables.”

Before I was a vegetarian, I didn’t realize how much protein was in vegetables.  I felt that if I wanted to lose weight, I needed to eat less and eat SMART.  So, I focused on protein.  I would eat small portions of turkey, chicken or eggs with a side.  Something that had enough protein in it to curb my appetite.

I lost all of my weight as a omnivore.  I became a herbivore and focused on a vegetal diet for one reason.

I watched documentaries and read articles that said I would perform better as an athlete.  Here is one website that talks about this phenomena, titled, “The Vegetarian Athlete Diet.”

So, I looked around and found that there was actually a high protein content in other sources.

 

Protein Sources in a Vegetarian Diet

Here are my favorite foods that I eat that also have high protein content

Vegetables

  • Potato = 4.5 g
  • Collards = 4g in 1/2 cup
  • Peas = 8g in 1 cup
  • Brussel Sprouts = 4g in 1 cup
  • Sweet Potato = 3g
  • Carrot = 1g in 1 cup
  • Kale = 3g in 1 cup

Beans

  • Lentil = 18 g in 1 cup
  • White = 6g in 1 cup
  • Navy = 6g in 1 cup
  • Black = 39g in 1 cup

Grains

  • Wild rice= 24g in 1 cup
  • Couscous = 6g in 1 cup
  • Quinoa = 8g in 1 cup

Seeds

  • Chia = 10 g in 2 ozs
  • Hemp = 10 g in 2 tablespoons
  • Flax = 4 g in 2 tablespoons

 

After becoming a vegetarian I dropped 15 minutes off of my marathon time and 5 minutes off of my half marathon time.  I achieved those PR’s when I was not injured and felt great as a runner.

I have pain in my feet and have to slow down my training, but I have not dropped my vegetarian diet in spite of not being able to train.  I feel really good eating a clean vegetarian diet.  I have also chosen to not eat sugar and I do not eat white flour.

Physically, I feel great!  Eating green and eating clean!

 

 

 

