On the outside these look like delicious Chocolate Chip Cookies.  But that is just a facade.

These are actually yummy no sugar energy bars my wonderful aunt from Arkansas taught us about.

My mom was the one who brought the energy bar and the recipe to me.  I am the kind of baker that drives my mom crazy.  “Little bit of this, little bit of that” is my kind of cooking motto.  She’s a measuring cup and spook kind of girl.  Here is how the recipe goes:

No Sugar Energy Bar

1 1/2 Cup of Oats

2 ripe bananas

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

1/3 cup peanut butter

Mix the ingredients together.  Form dough into balls.  Place balls on wax papered cookie sheet.  Place in oven to cook at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

I ADD

A small handful of Flax Seed

A couple of pinches of Chia Seed

Dried Cranberries

The dough is versatile – add as you please!

Here is what I get:

20160929_171518

So good!

I keep these in the fridge and grab one or two as I am headed out for a run.  The bars are filled with potassium to ward off muscle cramps, carbs and the kind of sugars my body needs to feel satiated and fueled.

So quick to make, so yummy to eat.  And perfect for me to eat before a run.

