I don’t eat cake.  I just don’t like it.  (Sweets aren’t my thing).

I have never felt any race I have ran was a ‘piece of cake.’  If I ever reach that thought, then I didn’t run fast enough.

But I do love a good savory cake.

Inspired by the WordPress Blog Prompt Word for the day: Cake, I decided to make this savory cake for dinner this evening.

Brown Rice and Cheese Cake with Roasted Red Peppers, Mushrooms and Spinach

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1 roasted red pepper
  • 1 cup of baby bella mushrooms
  • 1 cup diced green onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup of feta cheese (feel free to add your favorite cheese – I use feta as it’s natural saltiness as a new dimension of flavor.
  • Salt
  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons coconut oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons of hempseed

Preheat your oven to 420 degrees Fahrenheit.  Prepare a 9 1/2 inch springform pan by spraying the sides with cooking spray and coating the bottom and edges with hempseed.  If you do not have access to hempseed, cornmeal will work.

In a medium saucepan, put in a dash of water and mushrooms.  Cover and let the mushrooms cook down.  Add in washed spinach.  Once the spinach is wilted a few minutes later, drain the water.

In a medium bowl, whisk your eggs and add a pinch of salt and pepper.  Add spinach and mushrooms to the eggs.

In a large saucepan, heat the 2 teaspoons of coconut oil with the onion and garlic.  Add in your rice and stir.  Add in your roasted red pepper and spinach, mushroom and egg mixture.  Stir.  Add in Balsamic vinegar and feta mixture.  Stir.

Place mixture into springform pan.  Let bake for 30 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes, remove from pan and enjoy!

*If you decide to use a smaller pan, it will rise higher – just give the cake more time to cook.  For example, a 7 inch cake will cook for 45 minutes.

*I use the same recipe for a quiche.  I remove the rice, add 3 extra egg whites, a half cup of flax milk or almond milk and cook in a glass pie plate.

Here was dinner:

DSC_0005 (2)

Although my youngest decided regular cake for dessert was his favorite cake!

DSC_0012 (2)

 

 

