There is a running ghost I carry on my back.

From the Rock N Roll Half Marathon.

The 13.1 mile race – the longest distance I actually race.  (The marathon I just run).

For the past 3 years I have been unable to meet my goals at the Rock N Roll, which for my area, is always in the Fall.

3 years ago I set two goals – to go faster than my last half and to break 1:50.  I went 47 seconds faster, but finished with a time of 1:51:08.

2 years ago I set out for 1:52 or under.  I gave it everything I had and was completely bummed to see the effort I thought I was giving produce a 1:55:59

Last year I should have skipped.  But was oh so sad to think I would not be able to run in one of my favorite , yet unpredictable, races.  But I ran, with my foot completely taped to help a freshly diagnosed heel spur.  If you have ever run injured, you know the complete frustration and sadness in wanting to perform, but being dragged down.  2:10.

I got the one month countdown email today, and I am stoked.  This race has plagued me.  Haunted me.  Bothered me!  In my head I am already at the start, bouncing back and forth thinking, “Shoot the horn, shoot the horn, shoot the horn – let me go, let me go, let me go!”  I’m chompin at the bit!

I want to chase those ghosts, I want to chase those demons – I want to RUN!  And I am oh so excited to try this course again and do well!

 

 

 

