I landed face down on the bed.  Grabbed the blanket and pulled it over my trail running shoes.

There was no other way to paint it.

That was a tough run.

I had scheduled myself out of the house for 3 hours to run.  I planned to complete 15-17 miles.  I ran 12.5 miles in 2 hours.  It was slow.  It was rickety.  My muscles were sore.  I was running on my bones until they ached.  I used every mental trick I had in the book to stay out there for the 12.5 miles I accomplished.  Until I had no more and had to sleep.

I was mentally and physically drained.

I started out in the happiest of moods.  I warmed up, I stretched.  I placed Gatorade and water bottles by the side of the trail for quick drink access when I passed each time.  I marveled at the beauty around me.20160807_074713

I watched the sun rise and peek through the trees

20160807_075449

It was a beautiful 67 degrees outside.  It wasn’t cool, it was still a little humid, but great summer running weather.  Or so I thought.

Things were fine for the first 7 miles.  But then it happened.  I felt my muscles tighten, start to seize up.  They were so unnaturally sore.  I began to debate the common runners training question – can I run with my eyes closed?  I did pretty good for a few strides.  It felt good to close my eyes.  Then I started to sway.  Which hurt my legs, so I stopped and kept the eyes open.

Mile 9 it hit me, “I DIDN’T EAT BREAKFAST!!!”  I hit my head, did the “duh!!” while staring at a couple who were out for a morning walk.  Then I added, “Good morning!”  With a smile and a wave.

I could have carried water with me.  I have increased the intensity of my training without adding more rest.  I actually jogged 5 miles on rest day.  I do not generally sleep well or for very long.  When I finally stopped it was 88 degrees and more humid out.

Short of it – I need a new plan!

I love my long runs.  I love having the ability to go out and run for hours at a time.  That doesn’t always happen, so I truly appreciate the days that I get to get out.

Long distance running can be a delicate balance.  Not only do I have to work out in the schedule when I can go, but I have to be sure to listen to the other parts of  my life and body and slow down when the forces all tell me too.

And I have got to stop running on rest day!

