I think running can be beautiful like art.  I picture the opening scene of Chariots of Fire.  I hear the poetic lines “…..with hope in our hearts and wings on our heels.”   I am inspired as I hear the music begin and watch the men run the beach at ease.

I think of other famous long-distance runners like Mo Farah, Deena Kastor, Lynn Jennings and Steve Prefontaine.  I have seen them run and picture the ease at which they accomplish such a fast pace.  I think of their style, how they make running beautiful and with Steve Prefonatine, my favorite inspiration as a runner, my muse, I think of his quotes:

“Somebody may beat me, but they are going to have to bleed to do it.”

“A lot of people run a race to see who is the fastest.  I run it to see who has the most guts.”

“To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.”

There are times when I run that it feels like art.  It feels beautiful.  It feels poetic.  When everything flows and is in rhythm, running is perfection.  I do not reach this success every day.  But every day that I train, I come closer and closer to reaching this kind of beauty and poetry in running.

The Olympics are upon us.  I enjoy watching the runners.  To try to understand all the hard work and dedication they put into their journey, their running to reach such beauty.  I watch their bodies moving, revealing each muscle that has suffered to be prepared for their event.  Inspired also by their heart, which appears on their face in elation or sadness as they cross the finish line.

To each one of these runners, you are my muse.  My inspiration to reach beauty in running.

[Written in response to the one word prompt: Muse]

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/40183348@N02/8504358412″>IMG_0174b</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

