I did some light running today.  After a long run yesterday I needed to give my body a break.  And to be honest, today was a busy day.

But I did take some time in the kitchen.  On rest days, or days of light running, I try to put together some food for me to have in my fridge for the rest of the week.  Some quick healthy foods.

I have mentioned that I have lost over 100 pounds.  Years and years of just buying clothes to cover the parts of me I didn’t want (anyone) to see.  Then one day, I made the choice.  I was going to change.

About a year in (and 100 pounds gone) to the “let’s get healthy” process, I became a vegetarian.  I was never really a big meat eater, and when I read vegetarians performed better as athletes, I figured, why not?  A year later I discovered I was having some problems with soy and dairy and had to drop those items from my diet.  I have added some occasional fish back in.  But stick mostly to beans and veggies.

A couple of my favorite foods to eat are stuffed Portabella mushrooms and sweet potato cakes, which is what I made today.  It is really easy, great to eat and great to have on hand.  Portabellas are meaty, hearty foods and great vessels for LOTS of items.  Sweet Potatoes offer so much good nutrition in one little spud and are SO versatile – I love to change them up!  Here is what I went with today.

Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

Portabellas are a great vessel for lots of items.  I love to stuff them with lots of other vegetables, but also BEANS.

I always have beans ready to eat in my fridge.  Usually black beans or great northern beans, cooked with jalapeno or banana peppers (I like the SPICE of life!) , seasoned also with Herbamare.  This is what I had on hand today, so this was my stuffing.

Today I had a big daddy mushroom and some sliders.  So I put them in my pan with a little water, seasoned them with a little Herbamare and covered them to let them steam and cook down some.  DSC_0004 (2)

Once they were slightly steamed, I added my black bean mixture to the heart of my big daddy, covered the others with some tomatoes and green onion.

DSC_0014 (3)

Then I covered them with a little of my favorite pepperjack non-dairy cheese by Daiya, put them in the oven to melt the cheese and they were ready to eat!

DSC_0016 (3)

Sweet Potato Cakes

Sweet Potato’s are packed with great nutrition, filled with beta-carotene, high in fiber and very filling.  They are also often in my fridge as a great on-the-go grab snack.  Today, I made them into cakes.

So you can cook and mash your potato, stuff the mash with your favorite goodies and put it in your pan to brown.  I go with the shredded potato.

Yes, it is way easier to peel your potato and then let it shred with the attachment on your food processor.  I shred mine with my hand shredder (as I broke said attachment and have not had it replaced).  Once shredded I add my green onion, Herbamare seasoning, yeast flakes (for it’s protein, vitamin content and cheesy taste) and a squirt of coconut oil to make little cakes.

DSC_0005 (2)

I put my cakes in a pan and let them brown on both sides.  Then I put my sweet potato cakes with my mushrooms, and I have dinner for tonight!  I have lots of leftovers for potato cake snacks, or a duplicate dinner for tomorrow.

Tomorrow is a speed day – I am nutritionally ready and will definitely be hungry when I am done.  And my food is all ready.  Awesome!!

DSC_0017 (3)

