Today I ran 5 miles of hills.  I then added 3 miles of speed.  The speed went great – it is always easier for me to do ANYTHING after hills (hills are the hardest thing for me!)   I was a Sweaty Betty when I was all done!

About 2 miles into my speed work, the song that got me through this past year came on my iPod.  I love the song, of course, not only because it is good but because it was my motivator for recovery.  The Dr.’s told me to stop running for up to a year.    I thought, how can they tell a distance runner, or any runner, to stop running?  There has to be another way…..

It has been almost a year since I developed a heel spur that stopped me from running for months.

The most devastating part of the heel spur – I felt like ALL THE HARD WORK I had put in to my training was going to be lost.

I found a way to stretch, ice, cross train.  I even soaked my foot in vinegar – if someone on the internet said it was going to help me run pain free sooner, I was giving it a try.  I soon developed a “hate” relationship with a stationary bike.  And every time this song made it’s way through my playlist, I would wish to be out running, where I could feel everything.

Have you heard this song?  Can you relate?  Do you have a song that helped motivate your recovery?  If so, let me know!  Here is mine:

I Feel Everything” – Waters

Oh-oh-oh. Oh-oh-oh

Oh-oh-oh. Oh-oh-oh

You can fool your friends

But I know you better than that

You stole my brother’s gun

I think it’s just more fun, like that

Oh-oh-oh. Oh-oh-oh

Kiss me just to keep me close

I’ll call you anything you want me to

I just can’t wait to get away

To that only place where I feel everything

[Chorus]

I feel everything. I feel everything

I feel everything. I feel everything

Oh-oh-oh. Oh-oh-oh

Oh-oh-oh. Oh-oh-oh

Don’t give in to what they say
They can’t understand it at all
It ain’t yours to give away
And it’s not theirs to take
I don’t care what they say
It’s just the only place
Where I feel everything

[Chorus]

And it’s not theirs to take
I don’t care what they say
It’s just the only place
Where I feel everything

[Chorus]

