Today is the last day of school for my elementary aged kids.  In just a few hours, it’s SUMMER for them!  This is a picture of my son on the last day of school from 2 years ago.  He was SO relieved to have the school year over and was ready the summer to begin.

Did I share his same sentiment?

Of course!  I love summertime with my 3 kids.  But I have to admit, having the kids all day every day for 3 months REALLY puts a damper on my workout routines!  How do I get through?

TREADMILL


Well, hello treadmill.  Treadmill, treadmill, treadmill.  Monday through Friday treadmill.    On the weekends I will be able to get out to the trails, but I have to develop a loving working relationship with my machine.

POOL


Thank goodness there is a pool nearby and we are members.  My kids are 10, 8 and soon to be 5, so the older 2 are able to swim with their friends.  My youngest has special needs, so I always have to be with him.  But it’s true!  As I stand with him, or swim with him I take advantage of some pool workouts.  I use some the ideas that are listed here, like the noodle plank, noodle bicycle, noodle crunch.  When hubby is with me, we take turns watching kids and swimming laps.  But if I am alone, I know I can still get a good workout in.

BE FLEXIBLE


I know I have said it before, but really, I need to hear it over and over again.  I like my schedule, I like my routine and I like to know I am getting my exercise and miles in.  On any given treadmill day I may have to break up my long runs.  5 in the morning, 5 at night.  If we go to the playground, I will wear my running shoes and do some sprints on the long stretches.  Try to do some pull-ups on the  monkey bars.  Modified standing push-ups on the side of a slide.  There is always a way to get some movement and exercise in no matter where I am.


SUMMER RACING?

I don’t race in the summer.  I used to run a 15K that our town sponsered, but I just felt awful.  I felt like I should be wearing a shirt with the word “stupid” on it and my husband wearing one with “I’m with stupid.”  So darn hot!  Summer, humid, hot runs mess with me.  First of all, I have that unique ability to turn the color of purple when I run on those days.  The bystanders on the street would shoot the runners with their hoses to cool them off – I was always immediately picked out “Oh geez – spray water on HER!”  I felt like the medics would run right next to me to be sure I was okay.  And the heat slows me down, I don’t perform as well, and that REALLY messes with my mind.  So I take the summer off from racing.

I open my racing season in the fall every year with the Rock N Roll Half Marathon.  It is still warm and having not raced for 3-4 months, I usually do OK, but not great at this run.  My times for the Rock N Roll have ranged from 1:51 to 1:54.  So, that’s okay.  But I look at it as my starting point for the races I have lined up for the rest of my racing year.

Now I have the heel spur to contend with, so I really do not know what to expect.  But I do know if I develop a loving relationship with my treadmill, hit the pool and stay FLEXIBLE I will hopefully perform just as well with when racing season opens.

And I get to have an awesome summer with the kids!

