Tomorrow….is……rest……day…….

Here are the demons I face:

  • I know I could be doing more than nothing
  • If I were to do more, than I would be a better runner (in my mind’s theory)
  • If I run every day, then my legs will be more prepared, come marathon day, for the pain they will endure.
  • If I don’t run then I will not burn any calories

I DID NOT REST BEFORE.  THEN I GOT INJURED.

Here is what I learned:

  • I overtrained
  • I ran everyday.  Sometimes I took Sunday’s off, but generally I ran every day.
  • My racing performance plateaued
  • I developed a heel spur from plantar fasciitis
  • I sometimes ran so much, I didn’t want to run anymore.  What????
  • I NEED TO HAVE REST DAYS – ESPECIALLY IF I AM GOING TO RUN A MARATHON IN A FEW MONTHS

In the past week I have run 50 miles.  I have done intervals, distance, progressive and just plain “gimme me some miles” runs.  Time to rest.  Here is what I gain:

1. Build strength

2.  I don’t burnout

3. I help my plantar fasciitis to heal

4.  And I don’t get down on running!  In fact I will be super excited to run the following day!

I am going to be so excited to run on Friday!  That is for sure.  What to do instead?  

What do you do for rest days?  Let me know!

