I am not a Doctor

I am just a long distance running lover with Plantar Fasciitis and heel spur.

My foot and I continue to work together to get along.

Yesterday I ran a faster 8 miles.  Any time I am running with speed I have a foot that is more sore than if I ran slower.  Top that off with A LOT of walking yesterday and my foot was VERY sore.  Here is what I do to help my foot.

1.  ICE – As soon as I got back from my run, I put it on ice.  Bring the swelling down.  Since I walked a lot yesterday, I used a lot of ice.  Every time I came home.  ICE.

2.  STRETCH – The straight leg calf stretch in particular.  I do this one at least 3 times a day, but when my foot is sore, I do it a lot more.  It brings such relief!  Stand and face a wall with your arms outstretched in front of you.  Keep your left leg forward, foot flat on the the floor and extend your right leg back putting your heel flat on the floor.  Lean into the wall until you fee the stretch in the calf on the straight leg.

3.  MASSAGE – I massage my foot.  In particular, at the end of the day I will roll my foot over a frozen water bottle.  This way I really focus on the plantar fascia.

4.  NIGHT SPLINT – At night I sleep with the Adjustable Posterior Night Splint with Toe Wedge for Plantar Fasciitis, found here.  When my foot is that sore, it feels good.

5.  BED STRETCH – Before I get out of  bed in the morning, I take a minute to take the boot off and stretch the fascia and calf.  I feel like it really helps those first, possibly painful, morning steps.

6.  IBUPROFEN – I prefer to not take pills, but if I am in a lot of pain, I follow my Dr.’s recommendation and take some Advil or Alleve.

7.  RECOVERY SHOES –  I wear my Oofos post run.  The rest of the day, I wear my Kuru shoes, which were designed for Plantar Fasciitis pain.

Here is the thing to keep in mind, too.  Yes, my fascia hurts after a fast run and being on my foot all day.  By the end of the day, the outside of my foot hurts, my heel spur hurts, my calf hurts – I take care to ice, stretch and rub these areas too.  Happy foot, happy leg!

All is better today.  Took it easy today and ran an easy going 5 miles.  I am smiling, my foot is smiling and hopefully tomorrow we will hit the distance trail again.

Happy trails!

