Marathon?  YES YOU CAN!!

Here I am.  Crossing the line of my first Half Marathon at Delaware.  I was so happy.  I had no idea what I was doing – it was my first half marathon.  I kept telling myself, “go slow….just finish.”  I would find myself running faster than I thought I should, so I made myself slow down.  I had raced 5K’s, 10K’s, 5 milers, 15K’s to this point – but never the half.  I was so happy to accomplish the half.  But coming across the finish line I realized my next goal already:


“I am going to run a full marathon.”

Who do you think of, or did you think of when you thought “marathon” as a newbie?

Someone like this?

triathlon-574571_960_720



My first half was the Delaware Half Marathon.  The Delaware Full Marathon is the half looped twice.  As I ran my first half, I caught up with the Marathoners, and a group of “50 Marathons in 50 States” runners.  I realized one thing as I caught up with them.  They looked like me.  Like a person that loves to run.  They weren’t wearing elite running gear.  They were wearing their favorite running shorts and shirts.  Were any of us going to win the race?  No, probably not.  We were all there on the course to meet our own personal goals.  And that day, they were going to do something amazing.  Run 26.2 miles.  I wanted to do that, too!

I realized that day that not every runner is going to set a world record.  But every runner running 26.2 miles is doing something amazing.  No matter how long it takes.  The marathon doesn’t have to be a race.  It is a long, long run.  It could take me 8 hours.  But when I finished, I just ran 26.2 miles.  I would’ve just run a marathon!

That day, I accomplished the very first step in running a marathon.

I just wrapped my mind around the idea of running 26.2 miles.  

And I accepted.  

I knew I was going to register for the Delaware Marathon the following year, and that I was going to finish. 

The way I see it, if you love running, but have always felt, “I can’t run a marathon”  here is the first thing you need to work on.  The first step in full marathon training:

head-36386_960_720

Your mind!!!

Where is the hang up?  What is the idea you have to challenge?

Let me help you.

Get rid of the “I can’t.”  Let me tell you, “YES YOU CAN.”

It doesn’t have to be pretty.  It doesn’t have to be fast.  No matter when you finish, IT WILL BE AWESOME!!!

Here I am.  One year later after running my first half, finishing my first full marathon.  I was so choked up when I came across the finish line, the medics had to ask if I was okay.  I was emotional because I did it – I ran a full marathon!  My body could do it, I just had to tell myself 3 words that we all need to believe for the full marathon:

10320484_880599325300620_9162496677085470533_n

“YES, I CAN”

How about you?  What got you across the finish line?  Are you still contemplating the full?  How can I help you across the line?  let me know!  I am here!

