I feel like when you ask someone for running song suggestions you will eventually hear: “ANYTHING from the 80’s!”

I love a good 80’s song.  There are many on my iPod for sure!

But sometimes I want a new beat.  I feel there are a lot of NEW songs out there that have an 80’s sound.

So here they are – the songs of today with a retro influence that I love to run to, and I think any 80’s junky will dig on their running mix:

  1. Dancing on Glass” – St. Lucia
  2. Carried Away” – Passion Pit
  3.  “Cold, Cold Man” – Saint Motel
  4. Heads Will Roll” – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  5. My Type” – Saint Motel (Has a bit of 70’s disco feel)
  6. Don’t Stop” – Foster the People (Big Audio Dynamite, anyone?)
  7. “Lifted Up (1985)” – Passion Pit
  8. Work This Body” – Walk the Moon
  9.  “Elevate” – St. Lucia
  10. Beware the Dog” – The Griswolds (Although I wonder if the true 80’s fanatic will appreciate curse words in a song….You’ve been warned!”)
  11. Happy” – Robert DeLong
  12. If So” – Atlas Genius
  13. Can You Blame Me” – Matt and Kim
  14. Chocolate” – The 1975
  15. Girls” – The 1975
  16. Closer” – Tegan and Sara
  17. Spirit of the Night” – Tesla Boy
  18. Rollercoaster” – Bleachers (You probably already heard this one at the gym – it plays at mine all the time!)
  19.  Red Eyes” – The War on Drugs
  20. I Wanna Get Better” – Bleachers
  21. Such Great Heights” – Postal Service
  22. Wait for Love” – St. Lucia
  23. Geromino” – Sheppard
  24. I Need Never Get Old” – Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats (The horns and pump up may lead more to a 70’s influence)
  25. Look it Here” – Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats (Same as above)

What do you recommend?  Let me know!

